Many criminals re-offend after they have been punished. Why do some people continue to commit crimes after they have been punished, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

Nowadays, the number of crimes that are committing in each society, apart from being serious or petty crimes, is on the increase. Unfortunately, a big number of criminals re-offend after they release into society. There are some key reasons for this issue that will be discussed and for sure some measures should be taken by the governments and individuals to tackle this problem.

The main causes for committing a crime are poverty, unemployment and lack of education. Many of the criminals often have no other way of making a living after releasing from prison which leads to committing other crimes. The prison system makes the situation worse, since offenders mix with other prisoners can have negative influences. As an example, a drug dealer may tempt a thief to try some kinds of drugs to be more relaxed in the prison and this may have devastating effects in the future. In addition, a criminal record makes finding a job more difficult so many prisoners re-offend after they are released.

To tackle this problem some measures should be taken by the governments. Firstly, prisons should provide education, skill and vocational training. Besides, rehabilitating programs prepare prisoners for release into society. Moreover, community service would be beneficial for prisoners to feel useful in the society by cleaning the public area or talking to schools. Furthermore, offenders will have some difficulties finding accommodation and work, so the family and friends should help them with these issues.

To conclude, the lack of welfare in the society can cause some significant problems which should be tackled to prevent more severe difficulties in the future. More effort is needed to have a crimeless society in which everyone can enjoy the peace and security.