Many developing countries are expanding their tourist industries.

Why is this?

Is this a positive development?

A number of developing nations are encouraging the growth of their tourist industries, as they need to boost their economy and promote their culture. In my opinion, this is a positive development, as it provides employment, encourages local industries, and promotes a deeper cultural understanding.

Developing nations often struggle to provide basic civic amenities due to a shortage of resources, or a variety of infrastructural issues. They may not possess any bankable natural resources such as oil, coal, etc. or the methods to fully utilize them. Also, issues in governance often lead to unstable economies and a lack of opportunities for growth. This, in turn, inhibits the ability of citizens to improve their quality of life.

The growth of the tourism industry in a developing nation would give a highly desirable boost to their economy, as well as highlight the culture of nation. Thus, investment in local handicrafts industries, such as souvenirs, provides employment to artisans and skilled workers, as well as work in various parts of hospitality industry. It also promotes the development of infrastructural amenities like transportation and sanitation. The influx of tourists would also promote an exchange of cultures. There may be some pre-existing prejudices or stereotypes associated with a particular country, which could be clarified with exposure. Many people love to explore the rituals, values and lifestyles of various cultures, and this could be highlighted with the help of social media.

In conclusion, a number of developing countries are expanding their tourism industries, as they need new avenues for revenue in order to better the quality of life of their citizens. It is a positive development, as it provides employment to various industries, as well as engendering a broader understanding of the country’s culture.