Experts claim that if older people do more exercise they will be healthier and happier. However, many elderly people suffer from a lack of fitness.

What are the causes of this and what are some possible solutions?

The mental and physical health of the elderly has always been of great importance to their loved ones. Experts have opined that exercise would be beneficial for them, however, due physical infirmity and loneliness, they may lead sedentary lives. This could be helped with improving their nutrition, as well as introducing new and engaging physical activities to them.

As we get older, the physical ailments one suffers from increase in number and severity. The body’s ability to repair itself reduces, causing a spike in age related illnesses, such as osteoarthiritis, pulmonary diseases, and diabetes. These further inhibit the mobility of the person, as they may be suffering from chronic pain. They also do not consider the alterations necessary for an aging body, and thus, may be consuming an unhealthy diet, leading to a reduced level of fitness. Recently, many older people tend to live alone, contributing further to poorer mental health.

A possible solution, thus, would be to monitor any illnesses, and increase physical activity. The elderly often engage in sedentary hobbies, such as watching television, reading, etc, which leaves little time for exercise. Encouraging them to participate in group outdoor activities, such as bird watching, would serve the purpose of socializing, as well as introduce more exercise into their schedule. Motivating them to take an interest in their diet and nutrition would also be beneficial. As they see their efforts bearing fruit and their illnesses and general well-being improving, they will be further motivated to continue.

In conclusion, many aged people live sedentary lifestyles due to ailments, improper nutrition and inactive hobbies. Encouraging them to participate in activities they can socialize in, while also exercising, and taking more care of their nutrition, could be beneficial for improving their mental health and physical fitness.