Some people believe that teenagers should focus on all school subjects while others think that they should concentrate on the subjects where they do the best or find the most interesting.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In most countries, subjects that a teenager must study are dictated by a strict curriculum and credit system. However, some believe that they must be allowed to focus on those subjects that appeal to them, as opposed to concentrating on all subjects. This essay discusses arguments for both views.

On the one hand, studying a variety of subjects, both liked and disliked, has traditionally thought to inculcate a good work ethic in the student, as well as imbibe them with resilience. Even if they do not score exceptionally well, that effort proves to the student that they can persevere when faced with difficult tasks, a lesson that serves them well throughout their lives. However, as it matters to an overall grade, students are forced to dedicate time and effort to subjects that they may not have a natural inclination towards, which might detract from more pleasurable activities. Also, it is usually harder to focus on subjects one isn’t adept at; thus, they may need additional support from their teachers and family, so that they aren’t discouraged by the difficulty of the task.

On the other hand, students who focus solely on subjects they find interesting, usually have a higher level of motivation, are more self confident due to their successes, and report being more satisfied with their school life. As it involves an engaging topic, students approach the work required with a much more positive attitude, and are willing to put in long hours. However, sticking solely to what one is good at might be detrimental to their overall progress, as they do not learn to deal with unpleasant tasks, something that cannot be avoided in the future. They also may not possess skills that are taught by disliked subjects, which may leave them at a deficit later on.

In my opinion, students should study all subjects, including those they find appealing as it leads to more holistic development. If they are weak in a particular subject, remedial lessons should be available to them, so that they can achieve their potential across the board.

To recapitulate, studying all subjects a school may be more demanding, but teaches one tenacity, whereas studying only those subjects that are of interest may be more engaging, but might limit the exposure a student has.