Write about the following topic.

Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say

that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives.

Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or

experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

Advertising is a giant which is present all over the world on Television, Internet, Radio and Print media etc. For years, people have debated the advantages and disadvantages of the industry. On one hand

people think of advertisements as a means of being introduced to new items that can enhance our way of living. On the other hand people consider advertisement as an unnecessary evil because it

tempts/entices us to purchase things that we don’t actually need.

I believe that, although advertising companies can sometimes go overboard, they are a necessity and can certainly help us improve our lives. Advertising allows us to be introduced to new products and quality brands which can aid in improving daily life.

Let me give you an example. I recently read an advertisement online for a smartwatch which intrigued me enough that I decided to buy it. I can confidently say that the purchase has greatly enhanced my life and helped me get healthier. The watch can measure my exercise, sleep and health statistics throughout

the day which is of great use to me. Without the ad, I would probably never have heard of such a product.

Another time I came across an ad for a tile cleaner. Even though I had one at home, I wasn’t very satisfied with the overall result and I decided to buy the one I saw in the ad. It turned out to be much

more powerful and decidedly better. Once again, I was thankful for the ad which led me to make a sound purchase.

In conclusion, I would say from personal experience that advertisements are a great way for companies to propose products and for consumers to make purchases which serve their interests.