Many elderly people are no long er looked after by their families but are put in care home or nursing home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend

Recently, some families no longer look after their aged members such as grandpa and grandma. They prefer to entrust them in the hands of caregiver or nursing home.Older ones can have adequate care and also network with their fellow folks when staying in care homes,although there are draw backs to be taken into account.

On the one hand, there are number of advantages to elderly people have staying in nursing home.Firstly, it will give them adequate care since most nursing home have plethora of specialist that can handle nutrition, heartdisease, varicose to mention few. Unlike staying at home where the family members are busy working hard to make money to build their future. For instance, older people who suffer from osteoporosis which requires expensive equipement to manage are readily available in most nursing home.Secondly, staying in a nursing home will give them the priviledge to network with their agemate whereby they can share ideas and view together. This tends to make them to be lively and friendly seeing their fellow folks.

On the other hand, one problem when older people are staying is that they suffer from depressions. Being isolated from their lovely and usual environment can make them to feel lonely and sad. This can result to psychological trauma and moodiness. According to research carried outcin UK, it was discovered that 85% of older folks staying in nursing home as mental problems caused by loneliness.However taking care of the aged at home is more effective than nursing home.

To conclude, it can be deduced that despite the benefits of elderly staying in nursing home, it can lead to depression which could result to mental illness.