Many famous sports players advertise sports product. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

All the companies always advertise their products via different mediums just to increase their sales. Few of them have chosen numerous celebrities like athletes & sports persons, to endorse their product into the market. There will always be pros and cons to such marketing strategy which will be discussed in following paragraphs.

To start with, adopting this strategy, gives an opportunity to a player to earn extra money apart from his sport. For example, last year due to his large fan following, Hardik Pandya, an Indian cricketer, was hired by a well-known company to endorse their brand for about 200 crores during the Asia Cup. Moreover, the reputation of the product can also be maintained, for instance, Virat Kohli who is often seen promoting an energy drink which he uses during his play. This results in genuine product marketing.

On the other hand, however, if the player becomes money minded (oriented) he would not fact check of the product and may unknowingly end up marketing fake or harmful products. For example, Rohit Sharma, a well-known batsman, was seen advertising tobacco on Indian television. Many people are influenced by the famous personalities and advertising such products may result in harmfulness to the public. Also, player may not perform very well as his focus would have diverted from a sport to the money which may reduce his fam.

To conclude, as long as the authenticity of the advert is maintained and until the product is for good to oneself, such advertisement may benefit to both players and the companies. However, players should always get information of what they will be endorsing and should always stay focused to their play rather than looking at their own benefit.