Some people say that modern technology will totally replace traditional newspaper. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages.

Technology can be found everywhere. Smart devices have become integral part of our lives, from reading news to purchasing groceries, everything is tap away. Many people believe that digital media will entirely substitute traditional newspaper. This essay will discuss pros and cons of both scenarios.

To begin with, digital media is consumed by vast numbers of people. Today, people can read local as well as world news from multiple online sources, one can not only read news but also listen to the articles for free or with nominal subscription fee. People can easily search for specific news on the internet, watch videos of the incident and gather information, which will diminish the need to preserve old newspapers. In fact, current pandemic has resulted in mass purchase of smart devices, people have started reading ePaper to avoid the spread of infections. Moreover, local publishers like Divya Bhaskar has launched mobile apps in which people can read traditional format of newspaper digitally.

However, reading news in a conventional way has splendid feeling. Newspapers mainly contains news but it has multiple puzzles like crosswords, sudoku, these benefits such as learning vocabulary and improves cognitive ability. Reading on smart devices can be eye stressing whereas newspaper has no such harmful characteristics. Additionally, fake news rapidly spread through social media, the authenticity of news cannot be verified.

To conclude, although modern technology will eventually replace traditional newspaper, with the new launches of advanced form factor in smart devices it will replace physical form of newspaper but conventional way of reading continue to improve.