Many museums charge for admission, while others are free.

Do you think the advantages of charging people for admissions to

museums outweigh the disadvantages?

It is contentious whether museums should have entry fees or not. In my opinion, although there is a merit of improvement in services if they charge fees, the demerit of discouragements to students and tourists will supersede the benefits.

To embark upon, it is clear that charging for admission would give a source of income to museums. They could utilize the funds for the betterment of their services and improve their display units. Museums in China, for instance, charge some entry fees and expend the money in installing the latest audio-visual technologies to make their exhibitions more interactive and attractive. However, this essay would argue that instead of charging the same from the public, the government and corporate should sponsor the museums.

Despite the above advantage, there are some serious disadvantages which cannot be ignored. Entry tickets to the museum would discourage our youth from the important heritage of the nation. Students hardly have some money, and if they need to pay for entry to museums, they would rather prefer not to visit. Moreover, foreign tourists would also not consider visiting these places instead they would like to spend money on some exotic locations such as mountains, beaches, and deserts. To illustrate, the Heritage Museum of Kolkata, when started charging for entry in 2018, the number of foreign visitors reduced by 21 % in the year.

In conclusion, the superior technology and better services are the advantages if museums charge fees. However, I believe that the limitations of hampering eagerness among youngsters, and the reduction of international visitors are far more effective than its benefits.