Many offenders commit more crimes after serving their first punishment. Why is this happening and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

A large number of criminals who serve their first prison sentence, leave prison only to re offend. this is mainly because of the lack of rehabilitation and difficulty finding regular employment once released. there are a number of solutions which should be implemented to deal with the criminals who re offend.

Firstly, the reason for most first time offenders committing crimes again, once they have been released from prison is, due to the lack of rehabilitation whilst in prison. In other words, offenders are not given a chance to retrain and learn news skills for their future and develop a deeper understanding of correct moral behavior and instead mix with other criminals, which only strengthens their criminal intentions. Secondly, repeat offending is also owing to the difficulty in finding employment after being released. As a result, many of them struggle financially which leads them back to crime regardless of the consequences.

there are two effective solutions to the problem of repeat offenders. One way to tackle this is to ensure that all criminals entering prison are given a chance to retrain with useful skills which will hopefully ensure them a job after they have served their sentence. By doing this, it will help them reintegrate back into society and give them some means of supporting themselves financially. Another method of dealing with the criminals who re offend is to have more supervision and checks in place when they are back and society. this solution would hopefully prevent them from taking any chances and deter them re offending because they are being so

closely

watched.

In conclusion, having training in prison and also

close

observation when first time offenders are released are effective in dealing with this issue. If governments implemented these solutions crime rates figures would soon drop.