Many offenders commit more crimes after serving their first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

Criminals who are released from prison after serving their first sentence, often re-offend. This is mainly due to the lack of rehabilitation and challenges they face when re-entering the society. There are a range of solutions that can be implemented to tackle this problem.

The phenomenon of first-time offenders returning to a life of crime after being released can be attributed to a lack of rehabilitation efforts whilst in jail, in other words, there is no retraining and skill enhancement of these individuals. Consequently, they face problems in re-integrating in to the society, as they find it hard to find employment, and financial struggles lead them to commit crimes again. Furthermore, there is a lack of focus on imparting the importance of correct moral behavior in jail, on the contrary they are able to interact with hardened criminals, which, increases their resolve to offend again.

The problem of criminals who are released after serving their first jail time can be solved by providing adequate rehabilitation opportunities. They need to be taught job-oriented skills and programs so that they can sustain themselves when they are released back in the society and do not fall prey to the lure of crime again. This will be the most reliable and effective method of breaking the cycle of crime which they can fall in to otherwise. Another way this trend of re-offending can be stopped, is by monitoring and regular checking of criminals once released. This will ensure that they are staying away from trouble and will act as a deterrent if they know that they are being monitored and kept an eye on.

In conclusion, first-time criminals committing crimes after serving out their prison sentence can be best dealt with a combination of proper rehabilitation and oversight once they are out of prison.