Many parents complain that computer games have no value to their children's studies. On the contrary, those games have produced a lot of negative effects on their mental and physical development. What is your opinion?

Playing computer games, these days, is gaining popularity among many children and many of them consider it as their best pastime. However, a large number of guardians believe that those games are worthless to their children’s education. In fact, they are having harmful effects, both physical and psychological, on the growth of their child. In my opinion, it is absolutely true that they are useless.

To begin with, one of the most evident drawbacks of those video games is that they are addictive. Children spend an inordinate amount of time sitting in front of computer while playing. As a result, several health problems are prevalent among such youngsters, and one of them is obesity, which is due to lack of any physical activity. A recent survey, conducted by WHO (World Health Organisation), shows that more than 75 per cent of adults who would play enormous computer games in their childhood suffer from obesity. In addition, weak eyesight is also very common in children and this is because of the radiation coming out from the screen. These radiations are extremely harmful for eyes of any human. According to the eye-specialist, exposure to computer screen radiation more than six hours a day continuously can not only damage eyesight, but also affects the brain.

In a similar way, those computer games are having a detrimental impact on the mental development of a child. As most of them are violent, they affect the attitude of a player and make him less emphatic and more rigid, or sometimes impolite. Furthermore, some of games are sexual; therefore, it distracts a child from his studies and ultimately a child becomes socially inept because of these adverse effects.

In summary, indulgence in video games has deleterious effect, both physiological and psychological, on the children and, I believe that it is time to limit the use of it. If action is not taken yet, it might be too late later to do something.