Many people agree that free public transportation should be available in most major cities. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this idea?

According to many, public transport

should be free for everyone in urban cities. The primary benefit is, people will be motivated to switch from their private vehicles to buses, trains, and tubes. Whereas, a drawback is, more burden will occur on taxpayers.

An increasing number of cars and family vans on the roads are creating an enormous amount of traffic congestions these days. It leads to a tremendous amount of air and noise pollution, which is eventually harmful to the human lungs and ears, respectively. Therefore, trains and tubes running on the roads without asking for fare will motivate more people to switch from cars to trains. For example, In Holland, at present, the majority of people prefer to use no cost, government-operated trams to commute.

The primary drawback of cost-free public transport by the Government in big towns will compromise the transport maintenance. Typically, the fare taken from the passengers is used to maintain the functionality of buses, trains and, trams. Therefore, in the case of no capital generated from the transportation system will compromise its maintenance. As a result, the Government will gather money from people in the form of taxes. As a result, people will move back to their motors and bikes. .The solution to curbing the pollution

; China, known for the massive traffic congestion, take an initiative to plant trees around the city to control the pollution rather than make transport free of cost.

In conclusion, although free of the cost transport system will attract more dwellers, inhibit the use of cars and curb pollution, the primary demerit is more taxes will be taken.