Many people believe that cooking is an essential life skill and should be taught to boys and girls in schools. Others disagree and believe it is a waste of school time. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Teaching cooking in school is often a debated issue. some say cooking is a crucial skill and should be taught to kids in school and some say it is not necessary. this essay shall discuss both perspectives. I, however, side with the later view.

To begin with, childrens nowadays are already burdened with so many academic subject. And if cooking is added as a subject it will be a add on stress on them. moreover, age of the kids is not appropriate to learn such skills, to work with sharp knifes and hot utensils could be dangerous for them. school need extra resources, infrastructure and specialised teachers to accommodate cooking as a subject. Hence, it will affect school budget on a very large-scale as well.

Digging deeper, cooking is a practical knowledge there is not much theories related to it. it will be hard for school to instill this skill in kids. cooking is a something that someone learns while doing it on daily basis. Not all kids are same, some will find this boring too. For example, according to a survey, more than 70 % of the people started cooking in their early twenties, this indicates that its to early for kids to learn cooking at school.

On the other hand, there is increasing number of nuclear families, and both parents are working. kids should know cooking, so that they can cook for themselves, if no one is available at home to cook for them. moreover, kids who wish to choose chef as their career, will get immense help by learning basic cooking skills at school.

To summarise, there is no deny that cooking is an essential life skill, but it will not be a wise decision to make it a compulsory subject in school.