Many people believe that formal “pen and paper” examinations are not the best method of assessing educational achievement. Discuss this view and give your own opinion.

Formal "pen and paper" examinations play a vital part in evaluating the academic results of the students. While there are some benefits to assess student's result base their evaluation of students on conventional examinations, I would argue that it is better to diversify the form of examinations.

There is no doubt that it is necessary to apply "pen and paper" examinations for the educational purpose. Firstly, this method enables students to pay their great attention to pass the exam with the ability in doing tests requiring rote learning. they are well - acquainted with doing test under the high pressure. Second, formal examination helps the tutor to check the ability of students. How much they learn and remember whatever is taught them to throughout the year. therefore, this method helps teachers to improve the performance of learners.

On the other hand, orthodox examinations also has its flaws. traditional exams can not support student to express their hidden creativity of their mind and improve communication skills. therefore, continual assessment such as course work or project is also a satisfactory way to improve soft skills such as social skills, communication skills, character or personality traits and so on. Moreover, different students possess different types of intelligence. "pen and paper" examinations may not be fair to students who are not good at doing writing work. For instance, a huge number of scholars tend to deliver better at verbal performance rather than in writing. therefore, schools should carry out flexible kinds of skills in exams to provide fair opportunities for students who are good at different aspects.

In conclusion, formal “pen and paper” examinations show effects on both sides whether it is positive or negative. I strongly believe that the variety of types of examinations is more essential for education in the modern life.