Many people believe that having a fixed punishment for all crimes is more efficient.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of having a fixed punishment?

Some school of thoughts deem that it would be more productive to have a definite penalty for all felonies. The advantages of this notion are quick judgement as well as criminal will be discouraged to commit crime, while disadvantages are innocent people may be punished unfairly and lack of respect towards judicial system.

The main advantage of having fixed punishment for all crimes is that judgement of every court cases will be faster. In other words, currently, it takes longer time for the judgement due to lack of predefined punishments. However, fixed punishments will save that time to give instant justice to victims. Second benefit is that it will admonish people who have potential of committing crime because they are aware with the egregious consequences by having information regarding penalty. For example, Crime rate in Saudi Arabia is lower because fixed punishments are given to all the offenders. Therefore, these could be the plausible advantages of fixing punishments for all felonies.

There are several disadvantages of this maneuver as well. Firstly, sometimes people have infringed laws for self-defense or they are innocent. Nevertheless, it would be injustice if the same penalty is given to them because they have not committed crime deliberately. Secondly, as states are punishing major and minor criminals equally, it will make law and order disrespectful due to its ineffectiveness because offenders should be punished in accordance to the nature as well as situation of the crime. Thus, having definite penalty for all felonies has above mentioned drawbacks.

In conclusion, instance justice to victims and discouragement to violet laws are two merits whereas unfair decisions for innocents as well as less respect for judicial system are demerits of having fixed punishment for all crimes.