Many people believe that healthy eating and the importance of healthy food should be taught in schools. Others say that parents should teach their kids about healthy food and diet. Discuss both views, and give your opinion with relevant examples.

People’s eating habits are changing all the time. In this day and age, people use less time than before for eating because there is so much going on with their life. Less and less family pay attention to what they and their children eat. More junk foods are being consumed without a second thought which is very bad for health. This raises the question of who is responsible to educate the importance of nutrient-rich food to the young generations?

On one hand, it is obvious that the most influencers to children are their parents. Children look upon their parents as the role model figures. Children always consider the parents as their first teachers. Moreover, when staying in the same house, it is the parents who prepare all the food for their child, hence, if the parents have good eating habits, the children have them too. For instance, my mother always cooked vegetables even though I didn’t like it when I was a little child that make salad is a must in my diets nowadays.

On the other hand, children spend a lot of their time in school, learning from their teachers. This makes the teacher another important actor in the quest of helping a child realize what food should be consumed. If the teachers made a healthy choice on the food they take, they will leave an impression of that choice to their pupils too. Besides, not every parent aware of their choice of consumables, thus, teachers could be the better givers of knowledge.

In summary, I believe that it has to be a combined effort from both sides. Both parents and teachers should help to raise the awareness of children's healthy food consumption in order to prevent any kinds of diseases that could affect the young one through their diet patterns.