Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information maybe relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Job hunting is one of the most daunting and stressful activity. Even when people have found their dream job, employers may sometimes ask for personal information such as hobbies, interests, marital status that might seem unnecessary or too confidential that the job seekers might be hesitant to give answers. But why some employers insist on asking for this kind of information? Are they relevant to the recruitment process as they might think?

From the employer's point of view, questions about personal characteristics such as hobbies and interests might be a valuable piece of information about the candidate they are looking for. For example, warehouse keeping type of job tends to seek for people with relevant skills and personality such as well-organized, tidiness and carefulness. Candidate with these kinds of characters normally interested in volunteer activity, planning for events. Some employers are even asking questions about the marital status of their potential employees This might seem unnecessary at first but if we investigate further, there might be a reason. Caregivers, for example, need to spend a lot of their time on the job. Having a family, a kid or planning to have one might affect their ability to fulfill the requirement of their duty. In this case, for the employer, it becomes mandatory to know the candidate situation.

But what about the employees? The employee might feel the questions are too personal, or they might even be affected and rejected because of their personal life. As we have seen in the example of the caregiver, answering whether he/she married or not might be the deciding factor of their job hunt. It doesn’t seem fair for some people to have their job affected by their personal interests. There is always the need for work-life balance and work shouldn’t be dictated by personal choices.

So there must be a middle ground somewhere that could please both sides? In my opinion, asking and answering a personal question is a matter of choice for both sides. For employers, if they think these kinds of questions are a helpful way to know more about the candidate, it is their choice to ask the questions and it is also the candidate’s choice to answer it or not. Answer these questions will help to show who the candidate is and show that he/she is suitable for the job, given that the questions asked are appropriated.