Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills. Do you agree or disagree?

Education is always about two perspectives that should be presented: theorical and practical. However, some people believe that educational programs across the boards are concentrated more on theorical than practical training, thereby lacking in some demanded skills. Personally, I am on the same side of this assertion because I believe that current educational system is focusing too much on learning facts.

First, it’s obvious that one of the most frequently task for learner is memorised as much given text-book information as possible. This is because the training methods are always about classroom activities such as remember knowledge and test students’ ability to repeat what has been written in the books. Consequently, the time for practicing skills that are related to solve real-world problems are seriously lacking.

Those facts lead to a painful reality: even some of the most accomplished students are not able to perform the most basic tasks. For example, trainings in computer science are solely focusing in theory lessons like calculus, algorithms but are forget about training soft skills. If students had a more balance time for classes both theorical and practical, not only will students get more confidents in professional environment, but the educational institution will gain more fame for producing competitive graduates.

That is not to say that theory training is unnecessary to develop student’s knowledge base. Of course, theory understanding will help to strengthen practical skills. The key here is sufficient and balance training for both.

In conclusion, it is true that today training methodology is more focus in theory instead of experimental learning that causes some undesired result in students’ knowledge and experience required for professional working. Meanwhile, balance training for both practical and text-book knowledge is the ideal, but to archive that, a systematic change, that is both time and money consuming, need to be planned carefully. And that problem is for another essay.