Many people believe that international tourism is a bad thing for their country. What are the reasons for this? What can be done to change this negative attitude towards international tourism?

While overseas tours with family and friends have become common vacation plan among all age groups, the handful of people argue that such kind of tourism needs to be discouraged for many reasons. Personally, I do not agree with this assertion because the international tourism is a backbone of the country's economy. By knowing the reasons for this negative attitude towards international tourism, we can take necessary steps to improve the situation to make things better.

People who say that it is a bad thing for their country, argue that respect for culture and a clean environment are compromised to a great extent by the host country. It is because before traveling to any country, tourists do not learn the culture, customs and ritual aspects of that country. As a result, unknowingly they might disrespect them, hurting emotions of the local crowd. For instance, In India, wearing footwear in Hindu Temples is considered as a disrespect to their cultural values. Moreover, many times foreigners do not follow the norms set by local authorities to keep the environment clean, polluting area near the tourist places with trash and harmful substances. Such contaminated places might not attract more tourists, impacting local community economically.

Even though these arguments are provided to prove how international tourism is bad, a government and tourist authorities need to take some measure to bring change in this attitude. The government needs to create awareness among local people about the benefits of international tourism in creating multiple job opportunities nearby and consequently, improving their financial status. Also, the government should work out on waste management chain policies involving citizens and tourist authorities to keep surrounding green and clean, which will attract more and more visitors. The money brought in by foreigners will bring a significant effect in many areas of the national economy.

Overall, lack of cultural awareness and absence of stringent rules on environmental sustainability are the main culprits creating a negative attitude among people, which can be changed by local government with the active support of local communities.