In today’s world, learning an alien language is becoming increasingly crucial for individual development, a trend attributable to rapid globalisation. It is commonly believed that residing in a country is arguably the optimum approach to learning a foreign language. However, other educationalists oppose this opinion. The following paragraphs will discuss these views and my perception.

It is reasonable to believe that living in another country contributes to efficient enhancement in the proficiency of a particular language. First of all, it provides learners with an appropriate environment to study the alien language. For instance, they are able to substantially improve their speaking skills by interacting with various native speakers. In addition, living in a foreign country enables you to promote the comprehensive understanding of the foreign language, which includes a series of slang and idioms that may not be discussed in academic language studies.

On the other hand, some experts argue that a formal language curriculum plays a more important role in learning a new language. Firstly, academic language courses allow students to obtain the knowledge about the painstaking grammar rules of a foreign language, which helps them develop professional writing skills. As an illustration, international students who study in English speaking countries must have a good command of grammar to complete their research essay. Secondly, due to the cultural difference, most newcomers have difficulty integrating themselves into the local community, so most of them are reluctant to initiate a conversation with locals. As a consequence, numerous international students cannot develop their language skills dramatically.

To conclude with my opinion, it is unquestionable that leaners can enhance their foreign language skills by studying overseas. However, learning a new language through formal courses is more suitable for students to extend their knowledge about grammar rules.