Many people believe that modern technology has made people more sociable, while others think that it has isolated them. Discuss both ideas and give your own opinion.

In the 3 decades, if one has to list the most significant technological breakthrough so far, they will certainly name the internet in most of the cases. Numerous people believe that with the advent of social networking sites people have become more social compared to the previous generations while others disagree. This essay will talk about both the views and will argue why these websites, as well as apps, have made the millennials less social.

Certainly, advances in the telecommunication sector have brought people closer than ever before. Whereas in the past, one can only meet other individuals in a club, park or a party, these days, a person can talk with an individual from another state that too while sitting in their home. This convenience has created a conducive environment to increase social interactions on a daily basis by eliminating geographical barrier. As a consequence, people are interacting more or in other words, they have become more social. Facebook, Tinder and Snapchat, for instance, enables anyone to chat and be friends with others at the touch of a button. Therefore, people think that modern technology has made individuals more sociable.

However, others, including myself, believe that technological advancements have worsened people’s interpersonal skills. The reason is simple to understand, nowadays, the millennials are trapped in the cyberspace where they only meet a person based on profile matches and their similarities. Such websites and apps make people less tolerable about others’ views and would only make connections with others who have the same beliefs or hobbies. If a person is reluctant to meet someone with different ideology or skills how one can say technology is ameliorating social skills of the society. To cite an example, users of social apps create groups where only like-minded individuals are invited which is certainly not going to increase anyone’s tolerance level or amicability.

To conclude, technology is making people less social by turning them into bigots.