Many people believe money is a very important factor for achieving happiness. Others, however, believe that money has nothing to do with happiness. Discuss both views and give you own opinion.

As to the role of money for getting happiness, most of the time, the society is divided in their opinion. A section of people opines that it plays a significant role in gaining happiness, while others are not in accord with them. This essay intends to discuss both the views followed by my stand.

On the one side, the propensity to enjoy newer products and services available in the world is the major reason making people believe that money is an important requirement for happiness. We live in a consumerist society, and having sufficient funds can only satisfy the thurst of having the latest gizmos, automobiles, amenities, and many more. Another prominent reason is money is needed for leisure activity. Admittedly, everyone is running for making their careers, and amidst this pressurized

target-oriented routine, people want to enjoy holidays with family members to relax and rejuvenate; only surplus monetary funds can avail these benefits.

On the other side, there are countless factors for proponents for whom money is not pivotal for being happy. Firstly, a group of people finds satisfaction in pursuing a job for which they are passionate irrespective of the money they receive as a remuneration. For instance, a navy officer is content with his duty, despite less salary as all he wants is to serve his country and recognition in society. Secondly, for close-knit families, happiness is sharing moments with eachother. For them, life in alienation leads to depression, nonetheless, one is having money profusely. Furthermore, for some parents raising their children with moral ethics and family values is happiness.

In my opinion, money cannot do everything. For instance, money can buy a dog, but not the wag of its tail. Similarly, money can buy books, but not the knowledge. Ergo, money is not the only driving factor for achieving happiness.

In conclusion, the definition of happiness varies with person and it is a subjective topic. However, linking contentment with only money would be unwise; many factors play a vital role in becoming happy.