Nowadays, more and more people are spending less time at home.

Why do you think it happens? What effect does this have on individuals and society?

Times are changing and so do the lifestyle of people. Earlier were the days people spend more time being at home, but today, this trend is on decline. This essay discusses its reasons and probable effects on the individuals as well as on the community.

To embark with, Globalization and Urbanization have changed the dynamics of the society and there are boundless reasons people remain for less time at home. Firstly, in this extremely competitive world, people are running behind materialistic gains which eventually force them for long working schedule, sometimes more than 12 hours. Secondly, due to influx of people, boundaries of cities are transcending their previous borders; and corporations are setting up their business in the outskirts of the city resulting in long commuting hours. Furthermore, during weekends people go for leisure activities outside their house. Augmenting number of club memberships, profuse increase in sales of theatre tickets and selling of merchandises in shopping complexes, reflects the fact more precisely.

As every coin has two sides, there are few positives as well as negatives of this phenomenon. To begin with the positives, people spend more on their past time. Money changes its hand and economy flourishes due to use of facilities from hospitality industry, entertainment industry and many more; employment increases. On the other side, long working hours because of insurmountable pressure to achieve targets leads to unhealthy lifestyle, for instance, stress, anxiety from less sleep and to name a few. Additionally, children grow up with lack of parenthood. These days, both parents are employed in majority of cases. Ergo, child learns to be less social and interactive with each others. This is really worrisome.

To conclude, I pen down by saying that demerits outweigh the merits and hence, people should have appropriate conscience about their ways of living.