Prevention is better than cure. Researching and treating diseases is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventative measures. To what Extent do you agree?

Health of living creatures on earth is of immense significance. One school of thought believes that it is better to take preventative steps instead of investing in exorbitant researching illness and curing the syndromes. I support medical research undertaken to explore causes of diseases and treating them.

To begin with, there are many compelling reasons for my support for incurring profuse money for discovery in the field of medicines. Firstly, the motto for exploring diseases and its cure is to facilitate mankind with healthy lifestyle. Today, life expectancy of people is nearly 65 years due to availability of vaccines and medicines against malaria, typhoid, diphtheria and many more disease; and longevity may rise to even 85 years in future. Secondly, many viruses and bacteria are getting resistant to conventional antibiotics. What is more, new diseases have developed over the years. Researching for new medicines is the only way and need of the hours to curtail their dominance on human race. Unarguably, it requires more cost but human life is more important than value of money.

Another point to consider is that research and medical treatments supports economy of the country indirectly. First and foremost, this sector gives employment to numerous doctors and industrial chemist involved in mass production of medicines. For instance, Switzerland‘s economy is supported by medical industry. More than 60% income and revenue come from this industry. Furthermore, the entire process also supports development of paramedical sterile equipment manufacturing industries.

To recapitulate, it is true that medical treatments and research are too expensive but at the same time they save lives and flourishes economy. Ergo, I believe that they are vital of the existence and survival of mankind.