Many people believe that scientific research should be carried out and controlled by governments rather than private companies. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Scientific studies are considered one of the most vital fields that directly affect many important aspects of a country. It is said that governments should be in charge of leading and managing these studies rather than private firms. In my opinion, however, I disagree with this view since, with the support from private companies, a large amount of research that governments cannot afford would be carried out and this involvement could boost the competition among companies.

First of all, the financial investment from non-governmental organizations would probably be a great motivation for scientists to conduct more important and urgent studies. In the past few decades, the support from private firms has notably contributed to the sustainable development of society. For instance, during the Covid-19 pandemic, companies such as Prizer have strived for inventing a new vaccine against the disease in a short amount of time, which has outweighed the effort of governments and drastically helped to prevent the spread of the epidemic. Therefore, the participation of private organizations in scientific research can remarkably stimulate innovations and significantly benefit society.

Secondly, the fact that many companies engage in scientific research would profoundly encourage efficiency, diversity and competition among them. In order to compete with each other, companies might need to devote themselves more to improve not only the quantity but also the quality of each research they are caring out. For example, through competition, the two technology companies Apple and Samsung are continuously collecting data from various researches and surveys to strategize better consumer experiences. As a result, with these innovations in studies and productions, customers would have more diverse choices at much better prices and experiences.

In conclusion, while scientific research is supposed to be solely carried out and run by governments, the involvement of private organizations in the field would profoundly benefit customers in particular and society in general.