Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative

impact on both individuals and society.To what extent do you agree?

It is often argued that social communication gateways like Facebook influences people as well as societies and local communities in a negative way. This essay disagrees with this statement because these sites acts as a common platform for individuals from different backgrounds and helps in solving many socio-economical problems.

There are many reasons why social media plays a vital role in an individual’s life. Firstly, they bring folks from different parts of the world together. This helps in building new relationships and provides an opportunity to learn about diverse cultures. These websites have even helped many individuals to find their lost families. In addition, those who share common interests can participate in groups and forums. For example, Facebook has several community groups created by people with extra-ordinary skills in art, music, dance or cookery. Those who are interested in these activities can join these groups and learn new skills. In this fast moving world, public networking portals give relaxation to those who do not get time to meet or communicate to anyone outside their community circle.

Another important advantage of such sites is that they allow individuals to voice their views, opinions and also protest against any global issues. There have been instances where cases like violation of human rights, child trafficking, child abduction, and so on were reported to government authorities through such forums. Recently, photos of a missing kid were posted On Facebook by their family members. Due to the large influx of likes and shares, the picture became quite famous and authorities had to take quick measures to resolve the case. As a result, the culprit was captured and penalized under law. Hence, such forums help in awakening the duties and responsibilities of the authorities and compel ordinary citizens to obey the law.

In conclusion, technological advancements in the field of internet have always helped mankind. By proper usage of publically connected web sites people can unite and work together for a global cause.