Many people prefer to travel by car rather than buses or trains.

Why do you think this happens?

What can government do to motivate people travel by buses or trains?

Globalisation, has had a positive impact on a lot of things. Mode of transportation, is one amongst them. However, in past it took months to travel from one place to another, but with technological developments and industrial revolution things have changed. Furthermore, after introduction of different methods, people still prefer travelling by car, as compared to other options such as; buses or trains. This essay will highlight the causes of why people prefer to travel by car and what incentives could be introduced by governments to promote usage of other methods.

Previously, vehicles were used to travel from one place to another and people who couldn't afford to have their own cars used to travel via public transport. However, with time usage of public buses has increased rapidly, as compared with past, still there is a vast majority that prefers to travel by cars. As per reports and analysis conducted by different marketing companies, comfort has been foremost the best reason why people prefer to travel by cars. As, people are not bound to obey and follow instructions and moreover, they are free to make their own choice and stay wherever they want to. Furthermore,people who travel by car are likely to be in groups and this option is more feasible economically.

Moreover, large families also prefer using car over trains, as it is more economical. At this point, government needs to put the paddle down and take this as an opportunity. They can increase taxes on roads and subsequently, introduce schemes for large families or groups to encourage people to travel via train. In India, subsidies and schemes were introduced to divert customers from roads to trains and a campaign was launched to create awareness and facilitate people.

Furthermore, government needs to create awareness regarding safe travelling and what benefits travelling through train and public transport has. This essay, highlighted the root causes of why people prefer travelling through car and how can governments divert it to public transports.