Many people put their personal information online (address, telephone number, and so on) for purposes such as signing up for social networks or online banking. Is this a positive or negative development?

With the advancement of technology, more and more people are opening accounts for social media and online banking purposes. While a lot of people skeptical it secure, for me, I think that despite the convenience it may bring, people should not put their personal information online.

On the one hand, as we can see, signing up for an online account easier than ever due to the convenience of technology. In many cases, instead of complete lots of paperwork, customers could quickly get an account for bank or for Email. By providing personal information online, people save time doing these registrations. For instance, users who want an account for twitter could do it via network on smartphone anywhere and anytime they want. Beside, one social media account could sign up for multiple things. Such as, Instagram link to Facebook. Users can administrative their accounts by provide their phone number or email address to get verified. This feature is useful when some invader trying to illegal invasion one’s online accounts during an emergency.

On the other hand, there are several problems if one’s personal information online is leaked. This user will become a target for not just material but also identity thefts or scam. For example, people may be bored by telesales people because their phone number are sold by companies, or worse the thefts can impersonate the user to claim insurance. People tend to share their status on their social media without private security, the thefts may take advantage of this to break into that person’s house, or kidnapped to extorting.

To conclude, although making online account brought a great deal of benefits for people, it must be done carefully and security, in my mind it still more harm than good.