Many people put their personal information online (address, telephone number, and so on) for purposes such as signing up for social networks or online banking.

Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays people are using different social network sites and online banking facilities for which they need to provide their personal information. Some people contemplate that it may have negative impact whereas I believe that providing cofidential information is beneficial as it as safety guard for them to prevent from fraudulent activity and it makes the applications and website more user friendly for them.

The personal details provided on websites is fruitfuls as it acts create an alert for consumer if any suspicious activity occurs on their accounts. When their phone number is linked to their social networking site, if soemone tries to access it, the company will send a message to user to inform that unkwon user is trying to get access to their account. As a result, it avoids privacy breach of customers.

Another point to consider is that by adding personal data on the baking sites make it easier for the citizens to use these applications. Sometimes people do not remember their account numbers, while visiting online if the address or phone number is associated they can simply type in that and their account will open for them and can make any kind of changes for them and do not need to conatct customercare in order to make changes to their accounts, they can customise it in settings.

To conclude what have discussed so far, if some of the persoanl details are available online there is no harm in that as it is for the safety and convinence of the people. If something unusal activity occurs they can always report to the company and it can be taken care of.