many people regard films as a less important form of art than literature and painting. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that movies are a less significant type of art when compared to literature and drawings. I totally disagree with the statement and shall point out the importance of movies and how it can affect our lives.

Firstly, movies have more powerful influence than literature and paintings in sending messages to the whole society. To elaborate on this, films consist of scenes that are originally taken from real life events. Thus, the majority of audience can relate to a story of a movie with a strong bond as the movie may touch a certain thought or memory. In addition, it is a primary source of inspiration and motivation for a lot of people. For example, the movie ‘Eddie the eagle’, starring Taron Egerton and Hugh Jakman, shows an inspiring story of a British skier, who became the first competitor to represent Great Britain in the Olympic ski jumping after facing a series of setbacks and disappointments from everyone around him.

Secondly, movies are more powerful tool when it comes to changing the opinion of masses towards a certain issue. To illustrate, though literature and painting enriches our lives, only a minority of the society would be interested in it. The majority of people would rather watch a movie than reading a book or observing the beauty of a painting. Thus movies can be used politically to increase the awareness of a certain issue or raise questions about another. For instance, the movie ‘Brave Heart’, starring Mil Gibson; was the about the wars that the Irish people went to against England for the independence of Ireland from Great Britain. The movie caused many protests in Ireland for months calling for independence again.

To conclude, despite the fact that all forms of art are important to the whole society, movies should be considered the most important and influencing type of art these days.