Computers are very quick in translating various languages; some people say it is useless to learn any new foreign languages. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recent computers applications have enables computers these days to be much faster than human beings in regard to the translation of several languages. Many argue that it is not useful any more to study or learn other languages as long as we have computers to do this for us. I totally disagree with opinion and shall point out in this essay the importance of learning foreign languages over the use of computer applications.

Firstly, computers cannot be a replacement or an alternative for language illiteracy in our lives. To elaborate on this, a person may find himself in a situation where he needs to communicate with a foreigner but in the same time he does not have his laptop or mobile app. With him, without proper knowledge of this foreign language, the communication is impossible. Furthermore, despite the fact that computers are useful in translation, it is certainly not a practical substitution for inter personal communication among individuals in daily life issues. For example, imagine someone in a foreign country waving for a taxi or ordering a meal but does not know what to say, first, he as to write down what he wants to say, and then try to spell it correctly. If that person cannot speak the language, he may say wrong words which may lead to a lot of miscommunication issues.

Secondly, Computers do not always provide the correct meaning of phrases. To give more details on this point, although computers possess a high level of artificial intelligence, it only translates languages in terms or words and not phrases. Thus, it may provide a different meaning of a whole phrase even though each word is translated correctly because on many occasions, a single word may have different meaning in different situations. Take Google Translate for example, it often provides funny and inaccurate meaning of phrases although the words are correctly translated.

To conclude, despite the importance of computers in translating language, it is obviously clear that the need and the importance to learn foreign languages cannot be replaced with computers applications.