Many people from rural areas are moving to the cities. What problems can this cause? What can be the solutions?

More and more people have been moving from rural areas to the cities. Cities are often seen as places of opportunity, but there are also some major drawbacks of living in a large metropolis, this can result in many issues, which calls for possible solutions to be adopted.

Moving to the cities can lead to several problems. One problem could be the cost of living is likely to be much higher than it is in a small town or village. Inhabitants of cities have to pay higher prices for housing, transport, and even food. Secondly, issue is that urban areas tend to suffer from social problems such as high crime and poverty rates in comparison with rural areas. Furthermore, the air quality in cities is often poor, due to pollution from traffic, and the streets and public transport systems are usually overcrowded. As a result, city life can be unhealthy and stressful.

However, there are various measures which governments could take to tackle these issues. Firstly, they could invest money in the building of affordable or social housing to reduce the cost of living. Secondly, politicians have the power to ban vehicles from city centers and promote the use of cleaner public transport, which would help to reduce both air pollution and traffic congestion. The introduction of a congestion charge for drivers has helped to curb the traffic problem. A third option would be to develop provincial towns and rural areas, by moving industry and jobs to those regions, in order to reduce the pressure on major cities.

In conclusion, people move from rural areas to the cities can lead to a number of problems and there are several actions that can be taken to address these issues.