Cycling is believed to be the most effective solution to reach a destination. From my viewpoint, riding a bicycle has some benefits and drawbacks that need discussing.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that cycling brings noticeable advantages. It is believed that the more people use a bicycle, the less polluted our mother nature becomes. Admittedly by using a bike, many pollutants and gas or dust which are emitted from transports having a moto engine can be sharply reduced. This could contribute to the fall in air pollution, the greenhouse effect and global warming. Moreover, cycling can allow us to save a certain amount of money that people purchase fuel and petroleum for their cars and motorbikes. Additionally, the cost that individuals should spend to afford a bicycle is definitely cheaper than the price of a car.

On the other hand, there are some disadvantages that bicycles cause that should not be avoided. First and foremost, riding a bike takes a longer time to get to places. To utilise this type of transport, people require physical energy by using their feet to move the pedal and if they are in a rush, driving a car would be more convenient than riding a bicycle. In addition, nowadays, our planet witnesses an increase in the average temperature, which has caused global warming and extreme heat in the summer around the world. As a result, people cycling in this type of weather run a higher risk of being prone to a heat stroke that leads to detrimental effects on their health, especially children and elderly people.

In conclusion, I would argue that although cycling could be a good way to reach a destination due to the environmentally friendly function and the reasonable price, it could also cause problems related to health and time saving; therefore people should use this transport on a suitable occasion.