Many people support use of animals for testing medicines for humans. Others believe it isn’t appropriate to use animals for such experiments. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, the advancement of modern medicines has changed the quality of our life substantially. However, there is a controversial debate regarding the question of whether using animals in experimental testing is appropriate. The reasoning behind each side of the argument will be discussed in this essay, and I will provide my perspective in the conclusion.

The supporters believe that the advantage of using animals in medical research outweigh its drawbacks. Firstly, the ultimate goal of this researches is to cure diseases that affect millions of individuals; Thus, instead of being emotional and consider the short-term effect of using animals, we should take a look at the extent the modern medicine helps people. Secondly, scientists argue that these tests have insignificant effects on the ecosystem of earth and wildlife. They foster and use animals, such as rabbits or rats, in an isolated condition, to eliminate any risk of an outbreak of contaminations or diseases. Compare to high-risk problems, such as global warming or dwindling numbers of endangered breeds, this issue seems insignificant.

However, animal-right activists question this practice due to various reasons. They argue that big pharmaceutical firms, which only consider their profitability, are the main players behind these studies, and they don't care about suffering animals. While there are other alternatives for the research development, testing on animals is the still most common practice due to its low costs. Furthermore, there is no guarantee that the result of the experiment on animals has the same effects on humans. There are many instances, that drugs with positive feedback from pre-trial testing on animals, had adverse effects on humans, causing irreversible damage on suffered consumers.

Taken together, while there are, indeed, concerns regarding experimental medical studies on animals, in my opinion, if we trade-off between the negative and positive sides, we would hope that continuation of this method would cure more illness in the near future.