Some people believe that universities should only accept students with high marks. Others think that students of all ages and ability levels should be able to attend universities. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, while education has a vital role in the society, there is a controversial debate regarding whether universities should accept only top talented ones or widen their demographic of students. The reasoning behind both perspectives will be discussed in this essay, and I will state my perspective in the conclusion.

There are several convincing reasons why restrictions on admitted students into universities are reasonable. Firstly, there are a lot of jobs which do not require any university certificate, and society will have big challenges if major of youngsters opt to go to university instead of learning a profession practically. Authorities in Iran, as an example, face a big proportion of unemployed university graduates due to the high ratio of young people with university degrees. Secondly, educations these days is not cheap, and governments allocate substantial funds to support educational systems, so this investment should be spent wisely by not risking on accepting every applicant.

However, critics mentioned that only accepting high-mark students into universities is not a logical practice. They mentioned that society will confront severe challenges if there are only limited graduates. Not only firms should pay high salaries to graduates, but also there might be a need to motivate foreign graduates into the countries to fulfill jobs. More importantly, there are other factors besides high-marks, such as hard-working and persistence, which contribute to one's success. There are many instances, that people in unusual ages or ability, become successful in their fields.

In conclusion, I believe that it seems simplistic that university should be limited to only top-marked students, and people with different ages and potential should be allowed to enter universities.