Many people think that international travel will decrease in future. Do you think it is a positive development? Give examples from your experience.

In last one decade, there is surge in worldwide travel because of globalization, different tourism and education etc. Some of the people find it positive as it provide an opportunity to see different destination and believe that travel is likely to increase further in future. But I believe that travel trend will decrease in near future owing to different reasons. I shall explain why it so with example.

People who find the increasing traveling as positive trend have some valid points. First of all, business is one of the major reasons for surging travel. People go to different place for business purpose such as meeting, presentation, opening office, training etc… and due to spread of multinational companies worldwide, such travel trend are expected to increase. For example, Countries like India getting big foreign investment, particularly from developed countries like U.SA, U.K, and Japan etc… and there is prediction that travel and hotel industry will boom by 10% yearly. Secondly, tourism also motivates people to travel and seek the different destinations in the world. It is said that people have more liquidity and likely to spend on eating and traveling.

However, with the advent of technology, people see that traveling might significantly decrease in coming years. Nowadays, meetings are organized via video conferencing or teleconferencing and traveling for meeting is just the wastage of money. Multinational companies have already banned the traveling for general meeting and bringing the expenditure down. For example, my company floated the policy worldwide that only higher management are allowed to fly for critical client meeting and other than that all meeting will be held through conferencing and chat software and other tools.

In conclusion, modern technology especially internet and telecommunication have facilitated the communication in easy manner, consequently business travel will reduce up-to large extent and this will affect the overall traveling pattern and can be considered as positive development.