Many people today find that the cost of attaining a University-level education is extremely

high for the students and their families. What are the causes of this situation, and how can governments, Universities and the students themselves overcome the problem?

Nowadays, affording the expenses of gaining a university degree can be a huge financial burden for both students and families in a way that an overwhelming majority of them are struggling to deal with. Even though, there are various reasons contributing to this controversy, namely diverting the chief role of universities and deteriorating the living standards, appropriate measures can be taken to address the issue successfully.

To begin with causes, one factor which has led to this trouble appears to be owing to distorting the primary aim of educational centers from education-oriented institutions to those of income-based ones, leading to costing families an enormous fortune to meet the expenses of their children's colleges. In addition, rapidly growing cost of living seems to be another underlying reason which in turn takes its toll on growth of educational expenses. For instance, the higher the cost of laboratories equipment and some courses particularly practical ones is getting, the more educational institutions will charge students to make up their shortage of budget.

Turning to possible solutions, apparently, a key remedy to this situation would be in the hands of government; to put it simply, if this problem is expected to be tackled, not only do governments need to make a change in their policies towards education, but they are also required to increase the universities' subsidy. By doing this, a great deal of expenditure would be on the shoulders of governments which in long-term is highly cost-effective. A further step might be for universities to find a main source of income, such as branching out into doing industrial projects. Last but not least, for many students, it will be more logical if they attend university when they are able to stand on their own knees and afford most of their educational expenditure.

To conclude, in spite of numerous challenges which prohibitive cost of universities poses, they are highly likely to be handled by taking suitable steps by all three groups, governments, universities and students.