Many people today use their phones to communicate by sending text messages than talking. What are the reasons for this? Does it have advantages and disadvantages?

In recent times, the trend of communication on mobiles phones shows that people prefer to send text messages rather than make voice calls. This essay will suggest that cost and convenience are the major reasons for this development before discussing some of its main benefits and drawbacks.

To begin with, mobile communication in most countries is an essential part of life, however the cost has not been pocket friendly. This has led to people looking for alternative and cheaper means of communicating. For instance, talking on the phone in Nigeria cost over 20 Naira per minute, while a text message of 100 characters attracts a fee of 4 Naira, this cost saving have led more and more people to switch to putting their thoughts and feelings into words. Furthermore, Short message Services are convenient and private. Unlike phone calls that are usually loud and intrusive, sending messages does not entail any form of disturbance. Messages can be composed and sent even in meeting and other social or formal gatherings without taking into consideration the ambience noise.

Despite the reasons for this trend, there are a number advantages and disadvantages. A major advantage of text message over phone calls is that it is a documented form of communication. Correspondences through texts are valid and admissible as evidence, whereas phone calls that are not recorded cannot be admissible as evidence. Also, the cost savings is another benefit as it is four times cheaper than making calls.

The main disadvantage is the limit to the number of characters. More often than not people who intend to send messages are limited by the 100 characters limit. This means that people would have to send more than one text messages to get their messages across. Secondly, typing on the mobile device can also stressful as the key pads of phones are quite small which could strain the thumbs of the person typing and further lead to pains.

To conclude, the preference for people to use short messaging services instead of Mobile calls have been brought about by the money they will save and ease, There are advantages such as privacy and documentation and disadvantages which are the stress of typing and character limitation.