Many people use social media to keep in touch with other people and for news events. Do the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

Internet has changed the way people interact and fetch their surrounding information. More and more people are now preferring it on social media. I believe that even though there are a few drawbacks of the trend, the advantages are far more.

First of all, the paramount advantage of social media is that it allows people to stay connected no matter how far they might be living. It acts a good platform for people to stay in touch with friends and relatives who live abroad. To illustrate, more than half of the world population is connected through social media according to a survey done in 2018. Moreover, everyone is running a rat race, no one has any time to go out and interact with others as everyone is running a rat race in this fast paced world. So, with the help of these sites, they can easily stay in contact by simply dropping a message or making a call during their work or school time.

In addition, time is another major factor why people are getting distant from news as no one has the time to sit and watch TV or read newspaper as they did in the bygone era. Now, they can simply go on the social sites and get the news they require. To exemplify, pages on Facebook such as ‘Quint’ posts the news in 60 words for people to read quickly. Further, people get a chance to get news of local and international happening as it provides opportunity for locals to express their viewpoint.

On the other hand, it has been widely seen that due to social websites, the face to face interaction has dramatically plunged and is not as strong. Furthermore,, the news on such social websites are written by non professional journalist. There have been several cases when a false information created chaos and a toxic environment.

In recapitulation, I think that it is a boon that social media allows people to stay in contact and updated with the surrounding at the same place. It is suggested that an amalgamation of real and virtual friend should be maintained and people should always verify the news they get do so that harmony can be maintained.