Many people like to wear fashionable clothes.

Why do you think this is the case?

Is this a good thing or a bad thing?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write not less than 250 words

Nowadays, majority of individuals desire to wear trending and latest designer clothes even though, most of the time are expensive, such a trend is as a result of pressure from advertising companies and people want to look like their role models. I personally believe this has adverse effects to the society and the masses most especially the youths.

Firstly, advertisements from commercial companies are the main cause of people willing to acquire fashionable dresses. In other words, commercials always raise the quality and value of products even though, it might be sub-standard. Fashion companies have the strategy of discounting trending attires, thereby, exerting pressure on consumers most especially, youths to purchase their products. For instance, H and M clothing line in Bremen, always have sales when new products are introduced to the market.

Secondly, most people copy the dressing code of their idols in the entertainment industry. This is especially true among the youths who can go to any length just to dress like their favourite musician or actor. For instance, seventy-percent of teenage girls in the United States wore similar dress as female celebrities around the globe during their first prom night.

In my opinion, I think the development has a detrimental effect on individuals especially youths as well as society as a whole. The rate of consumerism has grown considerably. That is to say, majority of adolescence squander quite a sum of money just to purchase designers and brand clothes consequentially, indebting themselves. Hence, they are unable to cater for their medical and dental expenditure. Furthermore, people looks indifferent and therefore, no uniqueness in society. Finally, it damages cultures and traditions as future generations no longer uphold unto it.

In conclusion, commercials from advertising companies play a crucial role for people to desire fashionable dresses which have drawbacks both on individuals and the community.