MANY PEOPLE LIKE TO WEAR FASHIONABLE CLOTHS.

WHY DO YOU THINK THIS IS THE CASE ?

IS THIS A GOOD THING OR A BAD THING ?

The tendency to cloth yourself in trendy outfits is a common fashion nowadays. There are many reasons for the behavioral pattern of people when it comes to fashion quotient. This essay will discuss the issue in the subsequent paragraphs highlighting pros and cons of fashion.

Firstly, today’s generation believes in materialism, yields to peer pressure to show off. The status symbol image has gained importance in most societies. This traps an individual and to attain a sense of belonging among his herd and one might overdo his efforts to look, wear the trendiest things to up his level in societal hierarchy. For instance, a groom’s worth is measured in India by what he wears. His designer clothing, a Tissot watch or a Tiffany jewelry depicts his status in society. Thus, wearing fashionable clothes is catching across all levels of every society.

On the other hand, fashion comes at a huge price tag. Adding to the problem is changing trends in fashion. Lately, all product lines of a fashion industry are commercialized, fashion has a shelf life. With intense level of competition among the fashion brands, the effort to gain appeal often leads to brands coming up with marketing gimmicks. For example, Tommy Hilfiger brand at most outlet stores have “0 buy 3 for $450/-“promotions, tempting people to spend more. This is often a financial strain for most, people stretch or borrow to fulfill buying sprees leading to accumulation of unwanted or low usage products.

In conclusion, there are several reasons for people to follow fashion and wear fashionable clothes. The main reason is to earn respect or status among the immediate circle of friend or family. In my opinion, this is a negative thing. If people evaluate their needs and wants, a sensible purchase is possible and accumulation of clothes through impulsive purchases can be avoided.