Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities. Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages?

With the advancement in industrialisation, fundamentals and dynamics of corporate culture have been altered significantly. In recent time, the culture of working beyond the duty hours is becoming increasingly popular. Where extended duty hours increase the productivity and chances of promotions, on the contrary, it outweighs the advantages by exposing professionals to mental health and personal relationship issues.

The advantages of working extended hours are twofold. Firstly, it increases the productivity of individuals. To clarify, longer working hours enable professional to work more, which increase their productivity. For instance, a construction project can be completed before time if the engineers and other staff members go beyond the required working hours and add more time to pace up the project. Secondly, this increased productivity enables working people to get promotions quickly, which accelerates the achievement of their professional and financial goals.

However, there are downsides to this as well. To begin with, extended office hours leave no time for the professionals; hence, the chances of depression increase exponentially. Humans’ brain has certain limitations, and to remain functional, it needs appropriate time to relax and enjoy. For instance, a report published by employees right, people with less or no leisure time are mainly exposed to the risk of mental issues. Additionally, long working hours, coupled with mental health issues, struggle with personal relationships as well. This notion is further aided by the fact that a large number of professionals are either single or divorced due to non-availability of time for their relationships.

To conclude, long sittings in office, though, brighten-up the chances of promotions due to increased productivity; however, the disadvantages in form of mental health and relationship issues associated with this outweights the advantages.