In many places, new homes are needed, but the only space available for building them is in the countryside. Some people believe it is more important to protect the countryside and not build new homes there.

What is your opinion about this?

Some would argue that the countryside should not be used for constructing new houses, however, others would view it as an alternative to overcrowded cities. This essay will argue that the countryside should be protected as this place is used to grow crops and rear animals and the produce is used for feeding the city population. Disturbing it will lead to extreme consequences.

Developing new suburbs over the land used for agriculture will impact the food supply to cities. Over centuries, farmers use their knowledge of weather for growing crops and this new development will force them to relocate to another place where they have no idea about climate change. This will impact the production and results in food prices to rise up. For instance, in 2014 News 9 reported that in Geelong, Australia the use of farmland for building purposes skyrocketed the price of rice as production was halved. A mismatch between the supply and demand forced the government to import rice from other countries on a higher price.

Moving farm animals to new grounds will possibly result in diseases and less production. Animals living in the countryside feed on the natural grasslands and these nutrients might not be available on the new location. Animals might also be forced to eat processed fodder which makes them sick and unproductive. For instance, in 2012 New York Times published a study which shows that relocation of cattle in San Diego shows a new kind of bacteria in the milk which caused hospitalisation of several people.

To conclude, the preservation of the countryside is important for the survival of humans and using this space for building houses will disrupt the ecological balance. Crops might get affected, production may be reduced and animals may develop new diseases that affect the inhabitants of the area.