In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or negative development?

The growing demand of people to have all the required products under one roof has resulted in the evolution of shopping centres. It has been observed recently that local shopkeepers are affected in the worst manner which even led to the closure of their shops. This essay will present this development as positive despite having the above-mentioned drawback.

The local shops generally sell homemade products which buyers won’t like that much nowadays. A shopkeeper sells these products made by others at their home in their shop. If there is an issue of quality then there is no return or exchange policy which upset the customer. For instance, a homemade bread with fungus won’t qualify for a replacement on a local shop. Moreover, the customer won’t find everything from their list in a single shop. The decreasing number of customers led these shops to close down and making the owners as jobless.

Shopping malls, on the other hand, serve several benefits for consumers as well as job seekers. Firstly, the customers get an option to choose among a wide range of options. For instance, a supermarket like Coles in Australia gives an option to get grocery, toiletries, dairy, meat and bakery items under one roof. These places also offer an exchange and return policy to all its customers. Moreover, malls provide hundreds of jobs to individuals which helps the society in reducing the unemployment ratio.

In conclusion, it is true that local businesses are shutting down because people are moving towards these shopping hubs but these shopping malls in return meeting the needs of the customer and provide benefits to society via employment to job seekers.