In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or negative development?

The growing demand of people to have all the required products under one roof has resulted in the evolution of shopping centres. It has been observed recently that local shopkeepers are affected in the worst manner which even led to the closure of their shops. This essay will argue this development as positive despite having the above-mentioned drawback.

The limited availability of different products at local businesses forced customers to opt for shopping malls. These shops generally sell a limited number of products which won’t cater all the needs of a buyer. The decreasing number of customers led these shops to close down and making the owners jobless. As a result, these business owners either opt for some other business or look for a job in order to support their family.

Shopping malls, on the other hand, serve several benefits for consumers as well as job seekers. The customers get an option to choose among a wide range of options along with various lucrative offer which customers find impossible to resist. For instance, a supermarket like Coles in Australia gives an option to get grocery, toiletries, dairy, meat, kitchenette and bakery items under one roof on a discounted price. Along with shopping, these centres provide options to dine and indoor entertainment. Moreover, malls provide hundreds of jobs to individuals which helps the society in reducing the unemployment rate.

In conclusion, it is true that local businesses are shutting down because people are moving towards these shopping hubs but these shopping malls in return meeting the needs of the customer and also benefiting society by providing employment to job seekers.