In many places, new homes are needed, but the only space available for building them is in the countryside. Some people believe it is more important to protect the countryside and not build new homes there.

What is your opinion about this?

With increasing population density in the cities, the demand for building new residential colonies is increasing. While it is believed by many that new colonies should be planned in countryside, others argue to save the countryside from converting it into a concrete jungle. In my opinion, I believe that new homes should be set up in countryside to take off pressure from cities.

To begin with, major metropolitan cities around the world are overcrowded and already suffering from vast migration of people from the countryside in order to find better jobs and educational opportunities. To overcome this congestion and to stop cities from becoming chock a block, it is prudent to expand cities outwards to relieve the pressure from them. For instance, The Chinese government has planned to invest million dollars to create new cities in the countryside to take pressure off from Shanghai, which is the biggest port city in China, and a city of opportunities.

Moreover, building accommodations in the suburbs or the countryside, will bring development to these neglected areas. As, more population shifts there, new industries will crop up. For instance, with the rising population in suburbs, demand for transportation, shopping centers, medical care, and educational institutes would increase, resulting in the creation of business opportunities for residents. Hence, both the people and the government would be the beneficiary of this outwards shift. However, the environmental concerns of the citizens need proper addressal and initiatives should be taken for sustainable development while maintaining the ecological balance.

To conclude, the cities are suffering from population explosion and requires government intervention to create more smart cities. The new cities in the countryside would help take the burden off the metropolitan areas while bringing development there.