Some believe that people who do physical work should be paid on par with the people who have high level degree. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that the income distribution should be based on amount of physical activity involved in a job rather than giving preference to education level. I disagree with the above argument and this essay will elaborate upon my disagreement; followed by a reasoned conclusion.

To begin with, amount paid for a work should be directly proportional to the value addition. Around the organizations, blue-collar jobs are associated with high physical activities and white-collar jobs are linked to more mental work. Additionally, blue-collar jobs are guided and managed by people who make management or administrative decisions. Consequently, people who lay the roadmaps and take decisions are paid higher than the people who implement them.

However, not all jobs involving a lot of physical tasks are lesser paid. For example, Athletes are paid millions to represent their clubs or country. On the contrary, farmers and factory workers are paid minimal income to be limited to bread and butter only. Many of these workers live in a shambolic state and often treated as second-class citizens. Although It’s the prerogative of the government to bring minimum income programs to avoid exploitation of workers, their salaries, however, cannot be compared to people who earn their positions. Moreover, Individuals who earn educational degrees should get rewarded with higher salaries to encourage others towards education.

To conclude, societies have different pay structures depending upon the stature of a job. The pay gap is not determined by the amount of physical work but by the quantum of results that the work adds to the progress of an organization. Therefore, the people in the higher ranks will always be paid high as they draw policies that affect the direction of the organization.