In many professional sports, there is an increase in the number of athletes using banned substances to improve their performance. What are the causes of the phenomenon and what are some of the possible solutions?

In several competitive sports, large number of Olympians prefer to use prohibited drugs in order to perform better. This essay will discuss that the desire to gain popularity and a way to reduce stress are the main causes of this trend. The most favourable solutions for this phenomenon are regular medical checkups and stringent laws.

One of the main causes of taking banned substances is that it helps sports individuals to reduce peer pressure. When there is a high competition in the field of sports, many players often loose their motivation and this would certainly impact their overall game performance. Therefore, they tend to take high doses of heroine and cocaine in order to boost their confidence. Another main reasons why sportspersons use illicit drugs is because their primary goal is become famous among audience. As medicinal drugs intake allows players to improve their muscle strength and endurance, they are more inclined towards these unlegitimate techniques to showcase their talent. For example, Adrenaline is a medical drug, which is banned in competitive sports events in India because it increases the physical strength of player up to ten folds.

The most viable solution to avoid the usage of performance enhancement drugs is that there should be frequent medical examinations before commencement of any competition. In other words, several detection methods such as breathe exhalation or blood test should be tested before permitting participation of players. Moreover, it is the prime responsibility of sports authorities to introduce strict anti-doping laws. That is to say, if any sportsperson found be doped in sports, they should be punished by the statutory bodies. For instance, a similar initiative was taken in Australia and a doped sportsmen was sentenced for 5 years, and this has reduced the usage of illegal substances to a great extent.

In conclusion, the possible causes of taking unlawful medicines in sports are the ambition to be in the limelight and to shed excessive stress, and it is the duty of government to conduct drug diagnostic tests and punish active dopers in order to avoid such circumstances.