Many small local shops closing as they are unable to compete with large supermarkets in the area.

How does this affect local communities? How could this situation be improved?

The number of small shops losing battle competing with the large ones has been increasing. This essay will discuss how large supermarkets replacing smaller stores managed by small local owners have affected local communities and will also suggest what could be done in order to resolve the issues.

There is no doubt that large stores that contain nearly everything a customer might want all in one place are considered by many to be the optimal shopping destination. On the bright side, it provides customers’ needs with comparatively lower prices than small shops due to price deductions it gets when ordering large quantities which give them a competitive advantage over their smaller counterparts. But on the dark side, small businesses gradually lose its ability to compete with supermarkets’ low prices. On both the long term and the foreseeable future, smaller shops are forced to close. This means that many individuals employed by these small local shops lose their income. Moreover, the closure of small shops gives the opportunity for large corporations to gain control over the local market and act as monopolists. Indeed, it has been recorded by the American Market Society that nearly 40% of small stores located within a 2 mile radius from Walmart encountered financial difficulties once the huge trademark opened. Thus, many shut their doors shortly after leaving many unemployed.

Many observers had noticed the dangers large stores bring on local shops and communities and suggested a number of solutions. My opinion is that in order to avoid and improve negativities such as the aforementioned situations, governments should enforce a bundle of regulations to ensure a fair competitive market environment. Such legislations might include the prohibition of large shopping malls within small communities already saturated with local stores. And to insure customer satisfaction, local stores must deliver a variety of products with considerable prices to be able to compete.

In conclusion, despite its competitive products and prices, large supermarkets have a dangerous role within local communities that might lead to loss of business and loss of job. Therefore, the government should step in to regulate the market in order to protect local commerce from predatory enterprises and to ensure a healthy and fair competitive environment.